An update

It’s a while since I’ve written anything on this blog but lately I thought it might be fun to start it up again, particularly as I have some free time at present. Today and yesterday I have spent many hours in my kitchen – I had intended spending the weekend crafting but daily life and eating have intervened.
Yesterday I made a few Indian dishes for dinner including a first attempt at chapattis. Everyone said they enjoyed the meal but I think it all could have been better. Practice, practice.The chapattis were good but you need a gas hob to finish them off the way the Indian cookery books suggest – I proved that by burning one on my electric hob!
Today I had a notion to make oatcakes but I couldn’t get the mix to turn into a dough so just pressed it into a large shallow tray, pricked it all over with a fork and baked it. The end result is a salty, crumbly affair. I don’t know why it tastes so salty – I followed the recipe. I understand that it might be crumbly since there was no wheat flour in the mix to help bind it so to avoid ending up with a handful of crumbs each time I attempt to eat a portion, I might have to put the oatcake on the cheese instead of the other way round! I’ll try again with this though as I love oatcakes and I bought a pack of Nairns Gluten Free oatcakes to keep me going just in case the home-made ones were a disaster!
Earlier in the week I was in a charity shop and bought yet another cookery book for a bargain price – Darina Allen’s Ballymaloe Cookery Course. A great book to just browse through and whilst doing so, I discovered a recipe for spelt flour bread that did not include normal strong flour too. So, this morning I had to buy a bag of spelt flour and then try the recipe. My bread tin was obviously a tad too small for this recipe as the mixture swelled and then spilled over onto the baking sheet and by the time it was cooked looked like a lava overflow on one side which I then had to slice off to get the bread out of the tin. No matter! The flavour is fab and although the texture is a little chewy, for a coeliac like me, it’s bread like I haven’t tasted in a while. Can’t wait to try it toasted for breakfast tomorrow. Not all coeliacs can tolerate spelt and I’m not sure if I’ll be one of them but the next 12 hours should tell. Another good thing about this particular recipe is that it’s a really sloppy mixture so no kneading needed!

One Response to “An update”

  1. Liz Says:

    You are back, blogging. FANTASTIC. I heard snippets of news from Big J in Honkers about goings on and immediately wondered if you would be blogging again, but far more important, if you will have time to do something like a DAY IN LONDON? Do tell.


I like it when people write to me

