cheese and chains

I bring up the WordPress front page to logon to my blog and don’t normally bother to check out the blogs listed there but for some reason today I did. One was called Code Cheese ** and as the banner image was of a block of cheese and I have a friend who can almost swoon at the mere mention of cheese, I clicked on the link.

I was initially disappointed that it turned out to be nothing to do with cheese and was instead a blog about computer coding (the name itself should have been a clue) but having a interest in computers anyway, I read on.

His post entitled Thoughts on “Waking Up at 5am to Code” was about setting and achieving daily goals, and as a result of reading that, I travelled off into the blogosphere to follow the links he gave and then elsewhere in search of more information on the subject. Some time later, I had created a little MS Excel version of a Zenban board but I like the idea of a permanently visual calendar suggested in the post  by Code Cheese so I probably won’t ever use the Excel thing.

As I’m normally up around 5am anyway, the thought of getting up even earlier to achieve additional daily goals did not appeal and I don’t think sleeping members of the household would appreciate any noise interrupting their dream time. I also thought about the tasks I might actually want to set myself daily in additional to those I have to do anyway but apart from taking a photo or two each day and learning more about my camera, I couldn’t come up with anything that I currently want to do every day. As I continued to think about it a bit more I realised several things:

1) Calling them ‘tasks’ will immediately label them as ‘mandatory’ and then I won’t want to do them at all.

2) It doesn’t matter if there are only one or two things on the list. It’s MY list, not yours, and I can always add to it later.

3) If I’m going to do any of these things they need to be achievable so I should be realistic and perhaps not include the online course entitled “Surgery for Beginners”.

4) Whatever is on my list can get done any time of day but they must all be completed the same day.

I have nothing to lose by starting this and possibly a lot to gain but I think that I’d rather go with a star system and not a red crosses one. I’ve always liked those stick-on stars that were used when I was at primary school to encourage children to achieve and be a little competitive at the same time so the next time I’m in town I’ll buy the stars but I can draw them in until then. I’ll let you know how I get on with this.

** Apologies if this link doesn’t work first time. I copied and pasted the link from the blog but had problems myself initially when trying to open if from my published link. It’s not the first time this has happened but I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, if anything. (I spotted the problem and have now fixed it.)

I like it when people write to me

