snow alert?

By the time I copied this photo from the camera to the laptop and played with it in Adobe Photoshop to finally settle for only a slight darkening in contrast, the clouds had gone. And yes, I know you’re not supposed to photograph directly towards the sun but hey, rules are there for breaking sometimes and I thought it was the best picture of the few I took.

JP tells me that there is “a yellow alert” for snow in Scotland today but I can’t get there to take photographs so I’ll just have to watch the news instead. Well, I could really get to Scotland today because it’s not that far away, no matter what the English might think. Oh, didn’t you know that I hail from auld Caledonia? I do, but I’ve lived south of the border for longer than I ever lived north of it. Haven’t lost the accent though… but I digress.

Here are the photos – before and after editing. I have to say I don’t really know what I’m doing with Photoshop yet. I have Elements and I began learning how to use it last year (with great gusto I have to say) but then other things got in the way (as usual) and somehow Elements was put to one side and now I think I’ve forgotten all the stuff I learned last year. Ho hum, something else to pick up another day. It would be impossible for me ever to be bored – I’ve always got something to finish or get better at!

Not sure there’s much difference between the two versions now that I see them together. I was being cowardly and indecisive when it came to Elements’ menu choices and sun is shining on my screen, making it difficult to see much except the reflection of my hands and tea mug.

As usual, I forgot to put tags on this post. I think I’ll have to try and move the ‘tags’ bit of the template further up the page!

I like it when people write to me

