dot dash

OK, so I’m being geeky and surfing the net at pre-dawn hours, checking out some blogs of lovely people who stopped by to check me out earlier (thank you all!). Then I moved on to consider whether I ought to reinsert the Twitter button which then took me via a convoluted route to the Gmail blog and their latest baby – morse code v querty. They’re calling it Gmail Tap and they reckon that you can be tapping out eight different messages at the same time with a multi Gmail Tap configuration on your mobile screen. Who needs to send that many different texts at the same time for goodness sake?! Clever stuff but have they just re-invented the wheel?  What will the next phase in phone texting/messaging involve – a series of grunts, howls or roars?

I don’t know morse code. It’s not something I’ve needed in my day-to-day existence. A few years ago I made a spotted fabric skirt for a friend who was playing the character of Miss Dot Dash in a murder mystery dinner but that’s as close as I’ve come to morse code. If someone was sending me an SOS, I’m afraid that their ship would go down because I don’t recognise the signal. It’s a whole new language to learn isn’t it? There aren’t any punctuation marks either, only the 26 letters of the alphabet and the digits 0 to 9. I don’t think it’s for me. My texts would be the poorer for the lack of an exclamation mark or two. How could I ask a one word question without a question mark?

If you want to check out the promotional as well as learn the dots and dashes for yourself, here’s the link to the article.

I thought it might be fun to type ‘good luck to you’ here, in morse, but it just looked like an ant spat on my page since I couldn’t align the dot and the dash on the same level. No doubt there’s a morse code font out there that can be used. Let me know if you find one.

Update two and a bit hours later: My son tells me that it was an April Fools day joke… Oops!

I like it when people write to me

