Having a sort out

These are photos of the two embroideries that need framing. The original images were from travel posters of the early part of the 20th century. I’d like to photograph some of my other embroideries that are already framed but my attempts so far have not been brilliant, showing reflections and embroidery in almost equal measure. I’ll have to work on my technique…

 

2 Responses to “Having a sort out”

  1. Liz Says:

    These are so lovely – you are very clever. Did you sketch the outline first and are the colours those of the original prints or your own?
    Not sure if you are getting my comments. May be my blog not sending them through.
    L x

    • crunchnrustle Says:

      Thanks! Your comments are coming through but I couldn’t see the last one on my post after I’d ‘approved’ it. Perhaps I did something wrong. (I emailed you too.)
      I use a sunny window as a light box, trace over the image then transfer that to my fabric. The colours are as close to the original as possible and I keep the image to hand for reference the whole time I’m sewing. Just writing about it is making me think it’s time to begin another embroidery project…


I like it when people write to me

