Bernina I love you!

I am now the proud owner of a Bernina B215 sewing computer. The accompanying manual refers to it as a sewing computer, not a sewing machine. Personally I don’t care what it’s called. Already I love it!

 
It was purchased today and as soon as I got home, I unpacked the B215 and settled down for a few hours of learning and fun. I read the manual from cover to cover before I even switched it on to ‘have a go’. After a while I even did a bit of freehand embroidery on it! If you don’t machine sew, you probably won’t understand the thrill at finding not one but three built-in thread cutters or the option to choose whether the needle finishes in the up or down position but believe me, it’s the simple things that make using a sewing machine a pleasure or a chore. I think the B215 will suit me just fine and will be a pleasure to use. Yes, I know that I’ve only for one afternoon but everything I did on it was easy to do and everything seems well thought out – the foot pedal cable for example winds around a spool on the underside and the lightweight fabric cover has pockets on the outside to hold the pedal and power cable etc. I haven’t found anything I don’t like about it so far and I doubt that I will.

 
P.S. I don’t work for Bernina and the company is not paying me to advertise their products. I haven’t completed the guarantee card yet so they don’t even know that I’ve joined the ranks of happy owners!

 

2 Responses to “Bernina I love you!”

  1. Liz Says:

    It is lovely. My 1962 Singer pales in comparison!

    • crunchnrustle Says:

      Your Singer lasted longer than mine then! The old machines are almost indestructible and I still have occasional pangs of guilt about letting mine go. The Bernina is much quieter though and more modern, and sleek, and beautiful and OK, enough already….


I like it when people write to me

