needles and pins

How do you dispose of your blunt or bent needles and pins? I usually wrap them in a piece of paper before binning them and I had one to dispose of this morning but I wanted a better way to secure it. What if I had a little container always to hand? After a quick rummage through my  ‘it-might-come-in-handy-one-day’ stuff, I found an empty mints dispenser and this is what I did with it:

I stuck a narrow scrap of ribbon around the top edge of the container using double-sided tape, having first removed the product labels from the container. I then tied a knot to secure the ribbon more and pinned the ends to the pinboard. You could of course just keep the container alongside your stock of new needles, in which case you probably don’t need to trim or decorate it. When it’s full, you just close the lid and throw the whole thing away!

I like it when people write to me

