abstract of a sort

On Friday past, after ditching yet another design for June’s stitchy challenge of  ‘The Seaside’, I decided to go off on a tangent and see what I could do with a theme of  ‘leaves’ in a limited colour palette (I’d been sketching leaves during a train journey the day before). “Looks better from a distance” is the nicest thing I can think of to say about it but I’ll keep it as a reference piece. It certainly proves that a basic design needs to be decided upon before needle is put to fabric! My basic ‘leaves’ idea soon became fields, tree trunks, hills, and flowers and I even stitched in a little bird!

abstract landscape copy

 

Yesterday I quilted around the daisies and trimmed it up. The shape reminds me of the side of an old-fashioned caravan.

DSCF6014

I like it when people write to me

