drawing with Mr Darcy

This weekend I’ve been sewing as well as practising shading and toning with graphite and charcoal pencils in a possibly vain attempt to improve my drawing skills. On Saturday I tried to do some of the shading exercises while Colin Firth was once more on the goggle-box, this time in Pride and Prejudice but it was difficult to concentrate purely on the exercises. I don’t have a record function on my workroom tele so I just had to watch all the episodes one after another and leave JP to his own devices for six hours.

 
I read the Call the Midwife books a few years ago but never watched the tv series until I came across it on one of the other re-run channels yesterday so I settled in for a few hours of tear-jerking nostalgia whilst completing this month’s alphabet stitchy challenge of C & D. I’ve taken several photographs of the finished item but the colour rendition is off – again. Can’t decide if the problem is mine or the camera’s. Probably mine so in the meantime until I take a photo I’m happy with here’s a glimpse of the front of the sewing machine cover I recently made.

 

This photo also illustrates another camera problem I’m having which I can only describe as a kind of moiré effect, with stripes showing where they don’t exist. It may be the particular fabric but I suspect not. Does anyone know what might be causing this and more importantly, what can I do to avoid/cure it? I have a Fuji Finepix HS20 EXR.

DSCF8559

2 Responses to “drawing with Mr Darcy”

  1. Allison Says:

    Like this, it turned out really well.


I like it when people write to me

