birthday books

In April I made stumpwork portraits of Beryl and Doris, using the internet and one or two books I have for assistance. I haven’t attempted any more although I have often thought since then about how B and D could have been better but can’t quite figure out what it is that I’m not happy with. I have a birthday soon and my sons are treating me to some books so I’ve ordered Jan Messent’s Embroidered Portraits which I hope will provide me with the answers I’m seeking.

51WGHNykqkL
I also ordered New Designs in Raised Embroidery by Barbara and Roy Hirst, a follow-up in 1997 to their Raised Embroidery which was first published in 1993 and which I bought a copy of at an exhibition in 1996. It’s a delight to read but I confess that although I’ve used their techniques many times I’ve never attempted an actual project from the book. I’m hoping that New Designs won’t just be a re-hash of the first book with some different pictures.

61JW312AWPL
Making a scotty dog from scraps of felt and a little bird from a home-made pattern is one thing but I would like to make different animals too and I know I don’t have the inclination to attempt my own patterns for them so when I spotted Stitched Safari: 18 Adorable Animals To Make With Felt by Tomomi Maeda I ordered that too, particularly as one comprehensive review mentioned dogs being included. What fun!

safari

I ordered the books through Amazon.co.uk if you want to check them out yourself and read the reviews. There were lots of other books I wanted to order but I had to draw a line and there’s always Christmas. Once I’ve got these three in my twitchy little fingers and had a chance to read them I’ll let you know what I think of them.

 

 

 

 

I like it when people write to me

