tut tut Amazon!

Within an hour of publishing the last post, I received a delivery from Amazon but the box was too large for just one or two books and extremely lightweight to boot. In the past, books have been delivered in cardboard envelope-type packages only slightly larger than the book within so I was puzzled as to what might be in today’s box and decided to take photographs as I opened it.

DSCF7140

DSCF7141

DSCF7142

 

It will be recycled but even so, what an excess of paper and cardboard to send one book measuring just 26 x 26 cm! It also seems pointless to have the protective paper only on top of the book as the book was able to slide around the bottom of the box. Was it impossible to find a smaller package? Tut Tut Amazon!

 

The book in the box was the copy of New Designs in Raised Embroidery I’d ordered and after a quick read, I have to say that I wish I’d bought it a lot sooner! It’s an excellent complement to Barbara and Roy Hirsts’ first book Raised Embroidery and is definitely not just a re-hash of that with updated photographs. Where most stumpwork books focus on flowers and insects, both the Hirsts’ books are mainly about figures and that’s what made me buy the first one all those years ago. This follow-up book includes mermaids, royal miniature portraits, a boat, sheep, and even an orchestra and the ubiquitous stumpwork bumble bees, butterflies and crickets are nowhere to be found within the covers of either book! Hurrah!

I like it when people write to me

