Stitched Safari

The Stitched Safari book by Tomomi Maeda was delivered on Saturday and I have no doubt I’ll be attempting one or two of the animals before long. The rhinoceros looks really appealing with his armoured hide made from varying shades of grey, brown, beige and off-white felt, and the flamingo is really sweet. Unfortunately there are only two dog patterns, a Pug and a Shiba, neither of which is my favourite type of dog but I’m sure the patterns could be easily adapted to a different breed.

 
The instructions are well written, accompanied by lots of diagrams and there are plenty of photographs taken from different angles, something which is often lacking in other similar books. 21 gauge plastic wire is used to give limbs stability and flexibility but I’d probably just use wire from my supplies as I’ve never had a need for plastic wire and therefore don’t possess any. The patterns are printed on fold-out sheets attached to the inside back cover with a recommendation that the patterns be photocopied rather than cutting the original patterns. The pattern pieces for each animal are grouped together with the name of the animal printed nearby but it might be easy to select a pattern piece that didn’t belong to the animal you were making since the pieces are not individually identified with the name of the animal, only the body part (see image below). If I planned to make several of these animals at the same time, I’d mark my copied pattern pieces with some kind of code to identify the animal, and store the cut pattern pieces for each animal in separate envelopes. DSCF8034

I’m looking forward to making my first animal but not just yet as I’m still enjoying the stumpwork and yesterday I began another one!

 

I like it when people write to me

