portrait three pt2

Portrait three was finished less than an hour ago. I can’t decide whether he’s an old-fashioned butcher just missing his apron or whether he’s out for a Sunday stroll to check out the local talent. Either way, his hat-holding hand took several practices until I was satisfied enough to settle for the last one. The straw boater hat was made from three layers of fine loose weave fabric, moulded over a small bottle cap, stiffened with fabric stiffener before trimming the brim to size and adding the ribbon band.

 

DSCF8039

DSCF8041

DSCF8037

4 Responses to “portrait three pt2”

  1. littlefelthouses Says:

    His hat worked out very well. I think he looks like he is a member of a singing quartet.

  2. sewinggoddess Says:

    This is so great! I feel really inspired. Love how you let the hand leave the two dimensional

    • crunchnrustle Says:

      I’m chuffed to be told that I’ve inspired someone else and to read your comment on my birthday was even better!
      The wired hands are challenging to make but I have ideas on how I might make them even more life-like.


I like it when people write to me

