heads and more heads

I’ve begun more stumpwork heads since the completion of portrait no.3 but I’ve discarded all of them.  They all start off quite well but then I wonder what difference another type of padding would make or if more padding would make better cheeks, or if I should shape the padding first or choose different stitches for the facial features or, or, or. Really, I’m striving to find a method of constructing stumpwork heads that’s my own and that works for me first time, all the time. I don’t want the heads that I make to be identical to what I see in a book. They haven’t been so far of course, because I’ve used different stitches for the features and shaped them differently and the basic pattern is only the starting point. I’ll end up with portraits that are an amalgamation of methods derived from the stumpwork and doll books that I own, things I find online, my own imagination and skills, and in the end no-one will care how I got there, not even me. A bit like life itself really.

DSCF8062

Here’s a little preview of the stumpwork that I’ve been working on this week. She’ll be full length if all goes according to plan. DSCF8065

5 Responses to “heads and more heads”

  1. sewinggoddess Says:

    I love it! Can’t wait to see the whole thing

  2. juniperberry27 Says:

    It’s Freda Kahlo. I am about to crochet one!! we need to compare x

    • crunchnrustle Says:

      Oh yes, I see what you mean! I wasn’t thinking about FK in the least when I did this one and I have given mine two eyebrows as opposed to her mono-brow! Can’t wait to see your crocheted version!


I like it when people write to me

