joining a group

I don’t have friends in my area who embroider and the only embroidery group locally is a branch of the Embroiderer’s Guild whose membership I talk myself out of applying for at least every other month. I also peruse online sewing communities but have never applied to join any – until this morning, when I took the plunge and applied to join Stitchin’ Fingers which has nearly eight thousand members.

I decided to join because they have a stumpwork group and if you read my blog on a regular basis you’ll know that I’m more than slightly enthusiastic about that form of stitching and whilst the group members seem to favour flora, fauna, and bugs as their subjects I reckon there’s room for little old me and my iffy portraits and whatnot. However…  I have yet to receive an email welcoming me or denying my membership. Fingers crossed for a ‘welcome’ one!

 

A visit to a charity shop yesterday resulted in the aquisition of this little travel steam iron. I’ve been contemplating buying one for ages and this one seems like brand new!

DSCF9004

I like it when people write to me

