zentangling

I have been sewing recently but they’re things for Christmas so I can’t show them until January. As well as sewing, I’ve been investigating zentangling and was able to book a place on a workshop this coming week. The official zentangle website states that tangling (the verb) is not the same as doodling but at the moment I still can’t see it as anything more than that except that tangles are supposed to be purely abstract. Being me, once my workshop place was confirmed I had to have a bit of pre-class practice. Only the third image uses actual zentangle patterns so the first image certainly would not be classified as tangling since leaves and flowers are clearly recognisable. Workshop attendees are invited to bring along any tangles they’ve already done but although I did a load more and will probably add to the pile, I doubt I’ll take any along. I’m still a bit sceptical about paying to learn how to ‘doodle’ but my curiosity has been piqued and I am looking forward to the workshop. I’ll let you know later in the week if I became a convert!

DSCF9317

DSCF9319

DSCF9320

DSCF9316

 

 

 

2 Responses to “zentangling”

  1. steelyseamstress Says:

    Hi. I’ve been trying out a bit of zentangling lately too. I thought it might give my some inspiration for fabric design. There are quite a few websites out there now where you can get your designs printed. I know what you mean about “paying to learn to doodle”. It will be interesting to see what the workshop offers. Hope you post some more on this. By the way, what zentangle websites have been finding useful?

    • crunchnrustle Says:

      I thought tangling might give me some inspiration too! I’ve mainly been watching Ellen Wolters’ YouTube vids which are great (if a little blurry at times). TanglePatterns.com is good too and gives instructions or links for all the official Zentangle patterns.


I like it when people write to me

