a new house

The hand-embroidered colourful house (4″x 3″) was begun last summer and then put aside for months. I recently went back to it as something to keep me awake whilst watching television in the evenings and I finished it yesterday. The tudor-type house (7″ x 10.5″) is free-motion machine embroidery, made this weekend just because I was in the mood to thread paint. I know that there is a lot that’s wrong with this piece but it was fun to stitch and my sewing machine appreciated not having to stitch through nylon rope and several layers of fabric for a change!

DSCF1189-1

DSCF1198-1

6 Responses to “a new house”

  1. littlefelthouses Says:

    Both houses are lovely, beautiful work. A little garden, path or hint of texture in the first would anchor it. I think it ‘floats’ a little.

  2. Allison Says:

    I liked your Tudor house, I thought the comment about it looking like a semi really cheeky!

    Allison

    >

  3. opusanglicanum Says:

    Tudor one looks more like a 1930s semi, but I love the top one


I like it when people write to me

