cross stitch alternative

I might be busy elsewhere for the next few days so I thought I’ve give you lovely readers the benefit of a second post today – the 340th of this blog.

When I posted the cross stitch White Village, I think I wrote that my next project would be a fabric book but I knew that what I really wanted to do was interpret the White Village in free style embroidery before tackling a book so I did! This little piece has reinforced my opinion that the world of cross stitch is much better off without me in it! I enjoyed this second version more as I much prefer the freedom that interpretive embroidery gives me as opposed to the restrictions of cross stitch. Let me state right now that I have a great deal of admiration for those who take pleasure from cross stitch – some work that I’ve seen is fantastic but it’s not for me.

Prior to stitching, I drew the village on the calico with pencil, coloured the surrounding background with Derwent Inktense blocks, and tinted the trees with Winsor and Newton watercolour paints. A fairly thick mix of chinese white tube watercolour gave an unexpected but welcome texture to the house walls. These were then left unstitched as I didn’t think I could improve on the texture with needle and thread. Stitches used – long and short, seed, straight, split, stem, and a few french knots.white village

 

2 Responses to “cross stitch alternative”

  1. Allison Says:

    I like this it stands out better in embroidery than in cross stitch.


I like it when people write to me

