owl wings

The stitch suggestion in Lala Ward’s book for the main feathers of the wings just didn’t do it for me. After various alternative stitch tests, I finally settled on simple buttonhole stitch and a different colour combo. However, when the buttonhole stitching was done I felt that the front edges of the wings were now too heavy so they were next to be ripped out and restitched with just two strands of DMC instead of the original three. I’m happy now and I’ve told myself that no part of the wings will be ripped back again! The only part of this owl that hasn’t been ripped out and re-done is the padding under the body so it’s perhaps no wonder that I’ve lost count of the number of hours it’s taken to get this far. I’m not chuffed with the shaping of the tail feathers so I’m sure I’ll be ripping those out this afternoon – again!  After that there are markings to add to the wings and then the multiple borders to stitch and I really think the whiskers on the mouse will also need re-doing …

August 5

I like it when people write to me

