autumn winter challenge

The pieces I embroider don’t normally take too long to do so for a change I’m challenging myself to embroider a vase of tulips which might take me through autumn if not also through part of the winter. Usually I just adapt something from a book or the internet but this time I’m actually designing it myself from scratch and I’ve already spent a few days drawing tulips and trying different ideas for the pattern on the vase. I’ve also selected various colour combos for the flowers but I’m sure those at least will change many times as will the stitching plan which is not yet finalised – I can’t make up my mind whether to use raised embroidery for some of the tulip heads or not.

DSCF9106-1

2 Responses to “autumn winter challenge”

  1. littlefelthouses Says:

    Looking good so far. I really enjoy working my own designs. If something isn’t working it is easy enough to unpick usually. I change my mind a lot when working on a piece. Sometimes I make a small sample to see how something will look before working on the big piece. It’s fun to play around with threads and ideas. Good luck.

    • crunchnrustle Says:

      Thanks Joyce. Like the quote says – it’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey and I did tests of different leaf shapes before deciding on the one in the image. There will be several test pieces for the tulips but I’m actually looking forward to those as a way to improve my colour blending skills!


I like it when people write to me

