dress to top #2

Yet another charity shop dress bought recently. I wanted at least three-quarter length sleeves if possible but with only cap sleeves and an un-generous amount of skirt to work with, I had a real challenge on my hands. How did I miss those cap sleeves when I was buying this? Any fabric left after cutting the dress to an acceptable length for a top would be used to cut new sleeves, no matter what length they turned out to be. I unpicked the existing cap sleeves from the bodice and used them to draft a pattern for the new sleeves, knowing that they would then fit the original armholes. I don’t like myself in close fitting wrap-fronts so I inserted a centre panel and gave the front neckline a little detail using the original neck-edge binding opened flat. The centre panel sits cross-wise to the main bodice and I had to add extra fabric pieces to the bottom edge but the pattern helps to camouflage it and the neck detail hopefully takes the eye upwards. It’s not a brilliant top but it’s wearable and it was another excellent exercise in sewing with knit fabrics. I even enjoyed finding the best way to unravel yards of overlocked seams and bindings in one go. Well, two goes at least.

grey-dress

grey-top-1

grey-top-2

I like it when people write to me

