fabric bird

I recently bought a secondhand copy of The Artful Bird by Abigail Patner Glassenberg who blogs at whileshenaps.com. The book has 20+ pages on techniques and several on materials and tools and I read through all those pages twice before starting on the wren, which according to the book is the one to master, after which the other birds will come “relatively easily”. I found some parts of the construction slightly challenging, particularly free-motion machine embroidering the wing parts once they’d been made up so I’d do that differently in future.

The book does not state if a particular level of expertise is necessary for making the birds but having made the wren I would say that it’s not a book for a complete novice. Abby recommends that even those with sewing experience read the instructions carefully and I concur! The wren was fun to make and I like the idea of a small flock of fabric fun birds perched around my work room so I’m looking forward to making some of the others.

wren

4 Responses to “fabric bird”

  1. wendy Says:

    oh wow, it looks fantastic! You did a great job!

  2. littlefelthouses Says:

    Lovely little bird. I have that book here somewhere, but haven’t made anything, lots of inspiration.

    • Mrs G Says:

      Thanks Joyce. Needs a little finessing on my part. My enthusiasm occasionally means that I’m a little careless in the application. I don’t tell myself often enough to think twice, do once but I learn a lot along the way!


I like it when people write to me

