Exploring texture and pattern 2

Since Sue Stone’s course (see my previous post) came online just over a week ago, I’ve hardly thought about anything else stitch-wise. So far I’ve made grid samples of running stitch, back stitch and mock herringbone stitch and I’ve never found it so difficult to sew a straight line of stitches as I have for these samples but that seems to be a common problem for more than a few of us doing this course so I don’t feel so bad.

Like millions of others, I’ve had a Facebook account for years but I could count on one hand the number of posts I’ve written. I rarely log-in and frequently consider deleting the account but as a member of the FB group set up for this course I now find myself happily checking-in several times a day to look at the images posted and to read how others have interpreted the challenges set or to empathise with the difficulties they’ve also found in accomplishing what at first glance appeared to be an easy task but wasn’t particularly.

I stuck the words of the stitched and painted fabric on the front of an A4 notebook which I’m using for notes and details about the samples I’ve made. The samples will later be made into a separate book. Each challenge asks questions at the end and I find these more difficult to answer than the practicalities of stitching. For example, “How might what you discovered in today’s creative challenge inform a piece of textile art?” I haven’t answered that one yet because I don’t do textile art (?) but it’s making me think, so that can only be good.

Here’s my running stitch sample so you can see what I mean about my non-straight stitching lines!

2 Responses to “Exploring texture and pattern 2”

  1. littlefelthouses Says:

    It’s looking great. I do like a course that gets the brain going. Not sure what your definition of textile art is, it comes in many forms and what you do is part of it, there are fabrics, stitches and textiles involved. I found at uni that if a question was difficult to answer, I would ask the same question, but in a different way. Just change the end of the question into ‘inform a future piece’. How will you use what you have learned. Sorry for the long comment, but you got me thinking too.

    • Mrs G Says:

      Thank you Joyce. Changing the wording of the question is what I would do if I was asking it to someone who didn’t quite understand what I was aiming at. Don’t know why I didn’t think of doing the same for myself!


I like it when people write to me

