having fun with stitches

These two little portraits were for a drawing class in the online course, using back stitch or running stitch instead of pen or pencil. A photo is traced and the outline is stitched through the paper and the ground fabric with the paper gently torn away when all the stitching is completed. Tissue paper is more flexible than tracing paper and easier to stitch through but you have to ensure that your stitches are fairly tight. My first portrait using mainly running stitch wasn’t tight enough and I ended up with lots of raised stitches but I like the resultant shadow/loop effect in unexpected places. In the second portrait I used back stitch mainly and tightened the tension and the final look is different again. I was really surprised when my camera automatically recognised these as faces. If any family members recognise these two portraits I’ll be delighted!

 

2 Responses to “having fun with stitches”

  1. littlefelthouses Says:

    I’ve used freezer paper with technique. You iron it to your fabric and it stays put while you stitch. It isn’t really gluey, so it comes off easily. But like the others, and everything, tension is everything.

    • Mrs G Says:

      I’ve used freezer paper for other things but I don’t think I’ve ever stitched through it so hadn’t thought of using it for this technique but I’ll certainly give it a go. Thanks for the tip Joyce!


I like it when people write to me

