needle weaving

These needle weaving samples were for a module on Sue Stone’s course using different yarns/threads for both warp and weft and varying the spacing etc. Some samples are anchored to the fabric at top and bottom only.

This module took me back many years to when I was a student at the (then) Scottish College of Textiles in Galashiels, studying for a diploma in Textile Design and used a full-sized dobby loom to weave much larger pieces than these 5 x 5 cm samples. I can hardly remember why I chose to drop out halfway through the three year course but the reasons for doing so seemed extremely valid at the time and a regret I learned to live with. Much water has passed under the bridge since then but I’ve never forgotten how to do plain and twill weave.

9 Responses to “needle weaving”

  1. wybrow1966 Says:

    Being very stupid (but interested), is needle weaving similar to needle lace used in stumpwork?

  2. littlefelthouses Says:

    Gorgeous little samples.

    • Mrs G Says:

      Thank you. I really enjoyed doing them and had intended to do more but other matters took precedence and it’s now been four weeks since I picked up a needle and thread. Time to get back on track!


I like it when people write to me

